Eye

to eye

[Photo ©2010, Lop Buri, Thailand]

There was a festival going on while I was in Lop Buri and I walked around taking photographs. I had come across this elephant earlier and took a few shots farther back while people were lining up to sit on it and have their pictures taken.  When I came back later the elephant was flapping its ear feverishly trying to scatter the insects away. It seemed that the elephant then saw me and the camera and abruptly stopped warding off insects and was now trying to figure me out. The flapping ended so it could have a full view of me. While it let its guard down to observe me I took a shot. When I put my camera down it gave me a few seconds more of staring and then went back to its task of pushing off the insects. So much for the elephant’s analysis of me.

3 thoughts on “Eye

Leave a Reply

