Not Far From Home

not so local

[Photo © 2011, Matthiessen State Park, Utica, Illinois, USA]

I’ve gone farther to be surprised but it’s nice to know I can find new things relatively close to home. I never knew I could find natural canyons less than two hours away from where I live.  It was amazing to see these rock formations and have the place almost to myself during my mid-week excursion westward. I’m used to the urban canyons of Chicago but it was nice to experience something so much more natural.

(Larger photo, 2x, available here https://williamboschdotcom.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/mspbridge1000.jpg)

further information …

http://dnr.state.il.us/lands/landmgt/parks/r1/mttindex.htm

Leave a Reply

